Week ending 23/6/13

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Another week of training in the books… I have had a training diary every since I first took up running. After a few years, GPS watches became available, so with one of those I logged all my kilometres on the computer. Since adding in weight training, using software or apps just doesn’t cut it for me. I like to see everything at a glance, track PBs easily, and just have it all in front of me instead of searching through calendar dates, or whatever. I still use the GPS watch for running, but I’m no longer interested in looking at km splits in races, or view weekly and monthly mileage etc since I don’t do that stuff any more, and all my running now is of the run/walk variety. It will be quite some time before I can do any real racing again.

I’ve had a paper diary for years now, but got sick of ruling lines each week! So I made up my own training dairy and got it printed. If you want one too, I’m sure you can find a way to contact me to order one.

Very happy to hit the trails on Sunday – haven’t done it in a while. I did have plans on Friday to go exploring somewhere I haven’t been before, but I was unable to print the maps from my computer, and I didn’t want to go with just one slightly dodgy and old map, which may not be relevant post Black Saturday fires. This week I don’t really have time to go where I want, but hopefully next week I’ll get to go exploring. I might even have some new gear to test out by then, as I just ordered some stuff from REI, so I can do this year’s search and rescue winter training without freezing to death.

Leave a Reply

