Week ending 16/6/13

Monday – Yoga, Squat, Light Deadlift
AM:
  • Flow Yoga – Able to do crane pose now! πŸ™‚
PM:
  • Squat: 3 x 6 @ 80kg
  • Superset:
    • Ab wheel roll out: 4 x 12
    • Deadlift: 3 x 8 @ 50kg
    • Calf raises off step: 2 x 13

Tuesday – Rest! πŸ˜€

Wednesday – Rest!
  • 2 x 10 Blind calf raises
Thursday – Bench Day
  • Bench: 2 x 5 @ 55kg, 5 @ 52.5kg. Cat jumped on my tummy during 1st set – very off putting!
  • One arm DB Bench: 4 x 8 @ 15.5kg
  • Horizontal band row: 4 x 8 @ purple band
  • DB Shoulder press: 4 x 8 @ 9kg
Friday – Deadlift, light bench, light squat
PM:
  • Superset:
    • Narrow grip bench: 3 x 8 @ 30kg
    • Single leg calf raises off step: 2 x 13
  • Deadlift: 3 x 6 @ 90kg
EVE @ gym:
  • Squat: 3 x 8 @ 50kg
  • Single leg RDL: 4 x 8 @ 2 x 20kg KB
  • Lat pull down: 2 x 8 @ 100, 2 x 8 @ 80

Saturday – Rest πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Sunday
  • 25 min run/walk – wore Five Fingers this time

Total training: 4 and a bit hours.
Nutrition: Experimenting with increased carbs. Not quite there yet. Still all the good stuff with 1 treat night.

After eating very low carb for several years, I’ve decided to up my carbs. But I have to say it’s very hard to do this when you want to eat the most nutritious carbs possible. Because I don’t want to eat much bread, or oats (puke) or quite so much SALTED CARAMEL PEANUT BUTTER (idea courtesy of ChocChilliMango and Michelle Koen). FYI it’s equal parts, PB and maple syrup with a couple of pinches of sea salt, warmed in microwave, and a splash of water to make it runny. Anyways, I’m still having trouble getting over 80grams carbs a day, but the salted caramel peanut butter sauce helps πŸ™‚

On Thursday I went to the osteo for a check up on my stupid right ankle, and then also to complain about a knee niggle. He gave me a running plan for the rest of the year. But then I said there’s no way I can run 3 days a week now I’m powerlifting. And then his bias shone through, and if his constant boasting wasn’t enough, he was all like “Only do light weights so you can do your running.” uhh you don’t know what I lift, and light weights isn’t an option when I am competing. Anyway, he is a good osteo. Great if you’re a runner. Not so great if you don’t really care to hear how many bazillions of people he’s treated with the same probs and how good they’ve come. Β Just because I have a poker face on all the time, doesn’t mean you have to convince me of your skills. I don’t see anyone I haven’t previously estalked so I already consider you good enough. He also bagged my previous physio, who I happen to reckon is excellent. He just missed a fault in my calf raises that I didn’t even pick up on. Otherwise, I’m sure he would have fixed me. Anyway, Mr Osteo says I’m good for 3-4 weeks at least. I think I’m good for a few months to be honest, so we’ll see how the boring rehab work goes πŸ™‚

Anyway, so my run program was kind of put on hold while he said I couldn’t increase distance/speed until after my next powerlifting comp. That’s ok. It means I can take more time, and that means I can use my Vibram Five Fingers. I was not happy running in my every day Inov-8s because they are so heavy and clunky.

Today my feet felt so light and I felt much faster and like the runner I used to be. I wore my Trek Sports because I like their fit the best out of all my Vibrams. And I wouldn’t slip so much if I accidentally went on any muddy or grassy spots (because I forget I’m not wearing trail shoes and cut across the grass or run straight through mud). I’ll wear them for all my runs over the next couple of months.

Regarding powerlifting training, this week was the start of my own program tailored for me πŸ™‚ So far so good, although I over estimated how much I can bench. Hopefully over the next few weeks that should sort itself out.

Leave a Reply

