Week ending 9/6/13

Monday – Quit coffee for the week (ended up being week days only)
  • 5 mins calf/ankle rehab
Tuesday – Squat @ gym
  • Squat: 3 x 8 @ 67.5kg
    • Right lateral knee pain. Weird. Started considering rewriting my program.
  • 5 min ankle/calf rehab
  • No energy to do any more than that today – no coffee
Wednesday – Bench Day
  • Bench: 7, 6 @ 50kg, 8 @ 47.5kg (weak from lack of coffee)
  • superset:
    • One arm DB Bench: 3 x 8 @ 15.5kg
    • DB Curl: 3 x 8 @ 9kg (Left wrist unhappy with this weight)
  • superset:
    • Lying tricep extension: 3 x 8 @ 15.5kg
    • DB Eccentric lateral raise: 3 x 8 @ 4kg
Thursday – Run/walk + DL accessory stuff  @gym
AM:
  • 30min run/walk
PM @ gym:
  • High windmill: 6, 6, 4 @ 12kg, 16kg, 20kg
  • DB RDL: 4 x 8 @ 2 x 45lb
  • Single leg KB RDL: 3 x 8 @ 2 x 16kg
  • Lat pull down: 12 @ 80, 10 @ 100, 8 @ 120, 10 @ 100, 12 @ 80
  • Close grip standing cable row: 8 @ 80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 130, 25 @ 90
  • Kneeling ring roll out: 3 x 12 (so easy I nearly fell asleep)
Friday – Deadlift
  • Deadlift: 3 x 8 @ 82.5kg
  • Calf/ankle rehab
Saturday – Working on what kettlebell stuff I suck at
  • Calf raises off step: 2 x 12
  • KB warm up
  • Half snatch: 5 min @ 12kg, 18 RPM, change hands every minute (left side did 3 mins, right 2mins). Legs shaking from calf work!
  • One arm strict presses: 3 x 20 @ 8kg
Sunday – Run/walk
  • 40 min run/walk

Training total: 4 hrs 15 min
Nutrition: Mindful eating, definitive diet, one treat night

I already know this, but I really need to take a rest day at least every 4th day to stop getting so hungry! It’s finally caught up with me tonight. Although most of my training this week was easy (the run/walks) or short (almost everything else), I still need to take days completely off doing stuff.

It’s 10 weeks til my next powerlifting comp, and I was a bit silly this time, taking a super long lead in time. It just isn’t working. I miss lifting heavy things, I’m scared my strength is not increasing, and I just haven’t been able to get into a solid weekly training pattern. I want to do my accessory lifts on the same day as my big lifts, but I’m finding some of the sessions too long, and it’s just not fitting into my week how I want.

I’m stalling on getting a coach, and I don’t want any old program online. I tend to ignore what most people advise me about training, and there really aren’t that many people I look up to in the strength training world – even less so in powerlifting. I know who I want to coach me, but coinciding finances with a comp to aim for hasn’t worked yet. So this week I drew up my ideal program. I like the look of it so much that I can’t wait to get stuck into it. It’s 3 days training, with a bonus optional 4th day if I’m feeling energetic. This then also gives me time to build up my running and do a bit of kettlebell training. The general format has lower reps than what I’m doing now, as I think I respond better to that, and built in recovery weeks because of the heavier sessions. Hopefully with 10 weeks til the next comp it will turn out to be good.

Today I got an email saying when entries open for this year’s Great Ocean Walk. I am so sad to miss it again.

But now I am thinking… if the osteo reckons I will be able to run 10km by October this year, then a half mara by Dec/Jan… I’m going to guess 50km by Jun/Jul???

A possible plan could be entering Maroondah Dam 30km in Feb, then Mt Macedon 30 or 50km in Jun, which would hopefully qualify me to enter the GOW again in October next year. Of course, to train properly for the longer stuff, I’d have to stop powerlifting. So I was thinking I can do powerlifting in the first half of the year, which is great because that’s when Nationals is on. Then I can do ultra running in the second half of the year, which is great because that’s when all the good runs are on. Crazy? Although my goal is to be an elite powerlifter, and be invited to the Commonwealth/Oceania or World Championships, I would never be able to afford to go to those, which are all in the second half of the year, so there is no reason I can’t be a powerlifter for one half of the year and a runner the other half 🙂

3 thoughts on “Week ending 9/6/13

  1. ChocolateChilliMango (@ChocChilliMango)

    GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Stop making excuses why you can’t be an elite powerlifter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    two words: fund. raiser.

    can be done! I’ll bake stuff to help raise the trip money. 😀

    start lifting heavy. motivation is what you need. you’re just bored with lifting weights in my zone :p
    kneeling ring roll outs? see? you can do the standing ones easy as. what’s that about then?

    you don’t need coffee for energy … maybe more rest like you said.
    I’ve discovered the goodness of rest days, you should too.

    do. it.

    you’ve been told. Dr. V has spoken. be very afraid.
    ok even I think that’s as forceful as wet spaghetti but anyway….

    Reply
    1. Anna Post author

      No excuses. By ‘elite’, I just mean get an elite total. I don’t care about which comps I enter. I’m more interested in the weight I can lift 🙂 Besides, I’m not a team person. They all have to travel together and stay in the same hotel etc. Not my thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

