Week ending 2/6/13

Monday – Heavy Squat, Kettlebell stuff, Light DL
AM @ Gym
  • Squat: 3 x 8 @ 65kg (easy πŸ™‚ )
PM @ Home
  • KB Half snatch: 6 min @ 8kg, 18 RPM, change hands every minute (easy πŸ™‚ )
  • KB Strict press: 4 min @ 8kg, 20 RPM, change hands every minute (not even close to easy πŸ™‚ )
EVE @ Gym
  • Deadlift: 3 x 8 @ 50kg
  • DB RDL: 3 x 8 @ 2 x 35, 40, 40lb
  • Lat pull down: 10 @ 80, 10 @ 100, 5 @ 120, 10 @ 100, 10 @ 80
  • KB OA Swing: 10 @ 16kg, 10 @ 20kg
  • KB 2 arm swing: 20 @ 24kg, 20 @ 28kg, 20 @ 32kg (grip too slippery to hold on any more)
Tuesday – Bench
  • Bench: 8, 7, 5 @ 50kg, 4 @ 47.5kg
  • Superset:
    • DB Bench: 3 x 8 @ 14.5kg
    • DB Curl: 3 x 8 @ 9kg
  • Superset:
    • Lying tricep extension: 3 x 8 @ 14.5kg
    • Lateral raise: 3 x 8 @ 7.5kg

Wednesday – Rest

Thursday – Heavy DL
  • Superset:
    • Square dance: 2 x 3
    • Ab wheel roll out: 2 x 10
    • Foot arch massage on tennis ball 2-3 min
  • Deadlift: 3 x 8 @ 80kg (oh so easy πŸ™‚ )
Friday – Rehab + light squat @ gym
  • Single leg slow calf raise off step: 2 x 10
  • Superset:
    • Squat: 3 x 8 @ 45kg
    • Blind SL Calf raise: 2 x 5
Saturday – Run/walk
  • 25 mins, a little more running than walking I think. In the rain. Managed to overtake someone even though I am not really a runner any more πŸ™‚
Sunday – Rehab
  • Various calf raises + foot arch massage

Total training: 3.5 hours
Nutrition: Mindful eating

Training:
Went to the osteo again on Thursday. I’m still not sold on the whole osteo thing. I think it’s a bit wish washy. He does have a plan in place for rehab. My homework now is to do calf raises, massage my foot arch, and go for a short run/walk twice a week. He’s not concerned about the instability of my right ankle, and thinks it will improve with the calf raises. Well I did calf raises as per physio instructions a year or two ago andΒ nothing. These ones are slightly different, so we’ll see. He says it’s ok to experience discomfort and pain while running, as we need to push the limits and then work the treatment plan around that. He still reckons I could do 10km in October and a half by the end of the year. I could do 10km today if I really wanted, with some discomfort, therefore pushing the limits a bit, but it wouldn’t be smart. So we’ll see how it goes. I am going back in 2 weeks, and after that he reckons 3 weeks, then after that he reckons I’ll feel fine enough to not go back. I don’t know. Anyway, he’s a ridiculously fast runner, so he does know some things. It’s useful to have someone to give me a running schedule anyway. If I’m left to my own devices I will just run hills for several hours once a week and continue to limp everywhere.

Nutrition:
I still have dreams of getting into the lower weight class for powerlifting, but I don’t want to be constantly thinking about food. I also want to enjoy treats every now and then. Also this year, I have been exceptionally relaxed about nutrition while I increase carbs, and try to reset my hormones a bit. So now half the year is over, I have no idea how much I weigh, but I’m sure I’d be shocked if I found out. Now I have been doing an experiment with mindful eating. I can’t be bothered going into detail here, as I will later on my work blog. But through this experiment, this week I have learnt:

  • 8 fish oil caps per day = better skin. 7 caps = crap as usual skin. 9-20 caps = no diff than 8 caps.
  • Chocolate biscuits make my fingers swell 😦 … and I guess the rest of my body too. I am not sure which ingredients exactly are the cause, but I think it’s the delicious combo of everything bad in them.
  • Cherries upset my tummy.
  • Being tired makes me want sweet food. Not for an energy hit, more for a chance to sit down and relax with something nice.
  • After 2 weeks, I am addicted to caffeine again 😦 😦 😦 Was gonna quit coffee today but decided to be a nice person to be around. Will stop tomorrow. Sorry in advance to everyone I see on Monday.
  • If I have been training 4 days in a row then I get ridiculously hungry. It’s annoying.

Re-reading the above, it looks like this week I have been training a bit, getting tired, and want to drink coffee and eat sweets! I will continue with this, and learn more about how my body responds to different things.

Leave a Reply

