Week ending 21/4/13

My training feeling a little lost at the moment. I wouldn’t really call it training. I’m just fluffing around until the strongman comp, then I will write up my proper program for powerlifting again. I got sick of fluffing around and so have been doing a few double days, and also trashed myself a bit on squats. Then I was so sore and couldn’t move for the rest of the week.

Monday – Clean and jerk practise
  • 2 x slomo mobility-plex
  • Clean: 2 x 4 @ 42.5kg (2 x fail on 3rd set – not fast enough)
  • Jerk: 3 x 5 @ 37.5kg
Tuesday – Random mish mash
AM: Run 5.3km
PM: Short thing @ gym
  • High KB windmills: 3 x 5 @ 12kg, 16kg, 20kg.
Wednesday – Mental toughness
AM:
  • Squat: 4 x 10 @ 60kg omgomgomg This is a moderately light weight for me, but 10 reps is a killer! and 4 sets made me want to curl up and die!
PM: Inspired by my clients
  • 3 rounds of 20, 15, 10 reps: OA KB Swing @ 20kg, Mountain climbers, Burpees
Thursday – Stretch + Sticking with the theme of mental toughness
AM: Light yoga (just stretching stuff – not counted towards weekly total)
PM: Ouch @ gym
  • 3 x mobility plex
  • DB Chest press: 10 @ 30lb; 10, 10, 5 @ 35lb (failed 6th rep); 8 @ 30lb (failed 9th rep); 10 @ 25lb
  • KB Jerk: 4 x 10 @ 16kg
Friday – Everything hurts
  • 40 min walk (not counted towards total)
Saturday – Yoga
  • 1 hour ‘Flow’ yoga

Sunday – No thanks

Total training: 4 hours
Nutrition: Good, with 3 treat snacks

Slightly disappointed that 3 treats probably results in weight gain for me. I have no scales, so don’t know for sure, but that’s the feeling I get, since that’s always been the case. I was just hoping that somehow it was magically no longer the case.

Wishing there were more than 24 hours in a day. Then I could do 3 sessions every day: Yoga, weights, conditioning.

Leave a Reply

