Week ending 24/3/13

Monday – Heavy squat, Heavy bench @ gym
  • 2 x Mobility plex
  • Squat: 2 x 2 @ 95kg (easy 🙂 )
  • Bench with pause: 1 @ 62.5kg (failed 2nd rep). Failed 62.5kg x 2.

Tuesday – Rest

Wednesday – Deadlift
  • Deadlift: 5 @ 70kg, 6 x 1 @ 100kg
Thursday – Core, Light bench @ gym
AM: 25 min walk (not counted towards total)
PM: @ gym
  • Double KB windmill: 5 @ 2 x 12kg, 2 x 16kg, 2 x 20kg
  • DB Renegade row: 3 x 8 @ 35lb
  • Narrow grip bench: 3 x 5 @ 40kg
  • 3 x 5 Lying leg twists
Friday – Rest
  • 2 x 15 min walk (not counted towards total)

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Powerlifting comp 🙂

Total training: 2.5 hours
Nutrition: Perfect, with 4 x treats (2 treat meals and 2 treat snacks)

This week was tapering for the Australian Powerlifting Champs.

On Monday my squat went well. It was surprisingly easy. I had time before work to do bench afterwards, and the big burly powerlifter dude was in the gym, so I asked him to lift off and spot for my bench. His lift off is different to what I’m used to, and he gave me a tip, which I tried to put into practise, but it didn’t really work for me. That’s not why I failed so many reps, but I don’t like benching at the gym because I don’t like their set up, so maybe if I trained at home it would have gone better. I don’t know.

For deadlift training I decided not to push it. My back was feeling good and instead of struggling to do 2x2s that I would usually do the week of the comp, I decided to pull a few singles at a moderate weight. That was nice and easy.

Then I had a few days left before the comp to chill. I didn’t want to do nothing, so I took a few walks – looking for our lost cat – and also did a quick 30 minute core/light bench session at the gym.

I also ordered some proughnuts from ChocChilliMango so I would have something super delicious, healthy, easy to pack and easy to eat & digest when you’re up and about in a powerlifting comp. I will have more to say on nutrition at some point for training, pre comp and during comp. I think I’ve worked it out. For myself at least.

Nutrition-wise, I did have quite a few more treats than usual – but they were mostly small. Sunday after my comp I treated myself to some ice cream and chocolate 😀

2 thoughts on “Week ending 24/3/13

  1. chocolatechillimango

    I haven’t had proper ice cream or chocolates for AGES. Would be great to hear what you found works for comp prep nutrition too and how it is different from normal training.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

