Week ending 3/3/13

Monday – No

Tuesday – Heavy Squat, Light Deadlift @ gym
  • Squat: 3 x 6 @ 87.5kg (easier than expected)
  • Sumo DL: 3 x 5 @ 85kg (not as easy as expected)
  • Kneeling ring roll outs: 3 x 12

Wednesday – Should have but didn’t

Thursday – 2 in 1 – Heavy bench, Heavy DL
AM: 35 min walk (not counted towards training total)
PM: At gym:
  • 2 x Mobility plex
  • Bench: 3 x submax (happened to be 8 each time) @ 50kg
  • Sumo Deadlift: failed 112.5kg both sumo and conventional. Felt nauseous. 5 @ 110 (2 sumo, 3 conventional), 2 x 5 @ 110kg (all conventional)
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 DB bench @ 35lb
    • 5 DB curl @ 25lb
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Lying tricep extension @ 35, 40, 40lb
    • 5 Lateral raise @ 15lb
  • DB Romanian Deadlift: 3 x 5 @ 55, 65, 65lb
Friday – Decided to enter KB comp, so better start training
  • 10 Jerk @ 8kg
  • 10 Clean @ 8kg
  • 3 x 20 cl&j @ 12kg (decent rest in between sets)

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Was going to go for a run, but ended up with a short walk on the beach instead

Training: 3hrs 30min
Nutrition: Mostlly crap, getting better towards the end of the week.

I decided to switch to sumo deadlift, but I need time to bring it up to match my conventional DL strength. With 3 or so weeks until nationals, now isn’t going to work. I just don’t have the power for it. I will work on it afterwards, because moving forward, it is definitely the best way for my back to lift. The training sucked on Thursday because I drank too much water and felt sick. Every time I bent down to get to the bar, I wanted to throw up. So I had to stand up in between each rep, to take my breath then.

On Sunday we went to Phillip Island again for A to go fishing and me to go running. As it turned out, it was a crap fishing day, so we ended up going for a walk. The tide was out and it was awesome 🙂

beach

Here’s the sand close up in case you missed it, and because I like the filters on my phone’s camera:

beach2

Leave a Reply

