Week ending 20/1/13

In my bid to do at least one race this year, and have fun during my training week, I did some intervals at the track today. Wow. It was so hard. I could barely hold 5min/km on the last interval. I have not run that slow in years! If I want to get back into running again, I’m going to have to take up running or something. I still have tarsal tunnel syndrome, and still not doing anything about it. I think that whole leg needs every muscle to be put back where it belongs because every small muscle is really tight. My big toe has been clicking and over the past year keeps making the peroneal tendon move over my ankle and look weird. Massage/foam rolling doesn’t seem to help. Or maybe I just have not done it consistently enough. I would be up for some acupuncture again.

Monday: Lazy

Tuesday: Heavy squat, light bench
  • 2 big mobility-plex
  • 2 sets:
    • 20 Plank walk
    • 3 Square dance
  • Squat: 3 @ 85kg (felt waaaay too heavy), 4 @ 80kg (still too heavy 😦 too hot today? Not enough fuel in the tank?), 2 x 6 @ 77.5kg (yes, I counted the other reps as a whole set)
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Narrow grip bench @ 37.5kg
    • 6 Single leg box squat @ 15kg (could it get any easier? So much for getting glute work in today)
Wednesday – Heavy deadlift, light squat @ gym
  • 2 big mobility-plex
  • Deadlift: 3 x 6 @ 95kg (Easiest thing ever. Especially good when the guy on the platform next to you is doing reps of 90kg with terrible form)
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Squat @ 45kg
    • Various hip mobility stuff
  • 3 sets:
    • 8 Single leg deadlift @ 2 x 45lb (too easy again)
    • 10 Ring roll outs

Thursday – Rest day

Friday – Was gonna run in the hills but it was 30 degrees when I wanted to go, so too hot for me)

Saturday – Gone fishing

Sunday – Heavy bench day, light deadlift + run
  • Various upper body mobility
  • Bench: 3 x 6 @ 53kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 One arm DB bench @ 18.5kg
    • 6 DB Curl @ 8.5kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Lying tricep extension @ 18.5kg
    • 6 Lateral raise @ 7.5kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Deadlift @ 60kg
    • 10 Ab wheel roll outs (so easy I nearly fell asleep out of boredom)
  • Later on: 3 x 400m run with 200m walk recovery. Very very very slow, especially on last interval – could barely hold 5min/km pace. Legs fine. Heart rate ridiculously high.

Total training: 4.5 hours
Nutrition: Low carb with one treat day

I was disappointed that my direct glute and ab work was too easy. I will have to remember to bring straps into the gym to make the glute stuff heavier. I will have to put a brave face on and do harder ab work.

When I went to the track this evening for a run, A came with me. We noticed one of our cats, Cleo, meowing and following us down the street. So we let her come for the walk, and we thought it would be fun for her to go to the track with us. It was kind of embarrassing because she meows non stop. But she was having fun going for a walk. Until we got to near a house with a loud barking dog. It would not shut up. So Cleo stood still while we kept walking, and she meowed louder and louder for us not to leave her there. A felt bad so we had to walk her back home. I chucked her inside and we quickly walked down to the track again, before she could get out of the cat flap and start following us again. We want to take her for more walks in the future. At the track there is a sign that says “No dogs on the track.” But some idiot was running with his dog on the track. It does not say no cats on the track, but Cleo would not have been able to enjoy it anyway because of this dog.

I’ve got a strongman comp or grading or somethingorather coming up next weekend (you’d think I’d have paid attention to it by now, but I’m not even bothering to train for it). That plus 3 days of powerlifting training, plus hopefully a day running in the hills, plus hitting the beach over the long weekend, will make for a fun week. But, can I even bet on myself to get all that done?

Leave a Reply

