Week ending 6/1/13

Mon (NYE) – On hols – Nothing

Tue (NYD) – On hols – Nothing

Wed – Heavy DL, Light Squat
  • 2 sets:
    • 5 Windmill (bodyweight with extended ROM)
    • 5 Side to side deadlift @ 16kg
    • 15 Single leg glute bridge
  • Deadlift: 3 x 8 @ 77.5kg
  • Squat: 3 x 8 @ 40kg
  • Clam 1 x 50
Thur – Heavy Squat, Light bench
  • 2 sets:
    • Mobility-plex
    • 3 Side lunges
    • 10 Leg lowers
    • 10 Body twists
    • 5 Back bends
  • Squat
    • 4 @ 70kg – no belt, felt waaaay too heavy
    • 2 x 8 @ 70kg – so hard, even with belt
    • 4 @ 70kg – yep, should have been 8 reps, but I’m counting the first set that sucked!
  • 2 sets:
    • 10 Narrow grip bench @ 37.5kg (why so hard?)
    • 3 Square dances
Friday @ gym – Failed Heavy bench sesh
  • 2 sets:
    • 2 Mobility-plex
    • 10 Dislocations
    • 4 Lying T Twist
  • Bench
    • 2 @ 50kg – Wow! Felt like 100!
    • 7, 4 @ 47.5kg – Feeling waaaay too heavy. Time to give up and do some fun stuff.
  • Jerk: 3 x 5 @ 35kg – How is this even feeling hard???
  • Oh yeah, it’s 41 degrees!!! Don’t think I’ll be lifting in that weather again.

Sat – Can’t believe I’m sore from light jerks. How ridiculous

Sun – Still sore, could have done my bench sesh, but mentally scarred.

Total training: 3hrs 15min

So Friday was a hot day. This is the first time in a year that I’ve skipped a training session. And I hate to say it, but I still haven’t made up for that bench session. I was going to yesterday, but totally wiped myself out with squats and I’m putting it off til the weekend.

I am finding powerlifting training to be getting a bit too serious. I found this to be the case when running ultras sometimes. And basically it’s not fun any more. I am dying to do some fun stuff again, but am lacking energy and don’t want to train more than 4 times per week. I would love to train with the powerlifting club again this year, but I am working during their training times again.

Maybe it is not fun because it was 41 degrees and I couldn’t bench what should have been easy. Maybe it’s because my nutrition is focused on losing the xmas kilos instead of performance. Maybe it’s not fun because I am still not drinking caffinated coffee.

I think I had more fun when I was training bench only, which only took 2 days, so then I could do kettlebells and have fun on the other days. I also get runner’s envy when I see people running. Perhaps after the next comp I will take a break and just muck around in the gym for a while.

Leave a Reply

