Week ending Dec 16

Monday: Heavy squat, light dl, light bench @ gym
  • 2 sets:
    • 8 Slomo mountain climber
    • 4 Side to side deadlift @ 16kg
    • 4 High windmill @ 16kg
  • Squat: 3 x 5 @ 87.5kg (much easier than expected)
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Deadlift @ 60kg
    • 10 Narrow grip bench @ 35kg
  • 4 sets:
    • 8 Single leg deadlift @ 2 x 20kg
    • 8 Renegade row @ 30lb

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: Heavy dl, light squat
  • 2 sets:
    • 5 Lying T twists
    • 8 Plank to push up
  • Deadlift: 1 @ 127.5kg (felt heavier than expected so didn’t do any more reps. As I lightened the load, I realised it was 10kg heavier than planned. FYI my last 1RM was 130kg). 3 x 5 @ 117.5kg (see vid below)
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Squat @ 45kg
    • 10 Push ups

Thursday: Rest

Friday: Heavy bench
  • 2 sets:
    • 8 Slomo mountain climber
    • 1 Max leg lower iso hold
  • Bench: 3 x 10 @ 42.5kg
  • 2 sets:
    • 10 OA DB Bench @ 15.5kg
    • 10 DB Curls @ 7.5kg
  • 2 sets:
    • 10 Lying tricep extension @ 15.5kg
    • 10 Lateral raise @ 4kg

Saturday: Sick

Sunday: Sick

Total training: 4 hours

I’ve been feeling like a zombie for a couple of weeks now. Partly because I haven’t had coffee in that time. I thought it was odd I hadn’t got over my caffeine addiction. Last week was terrible – I was sleeping at every opportunity! Then on Thursday I felt like I was getting a cold. It never entered my head that I would actually get sick. I mean, I usually just take zinc and overload on vitamin C, then I’m fine. I haven’t had a cold since May 2011, and that was due to stress from an insane training program. Woke up on Friday feeling the same as Thursday… but as the day progressed… I knew… a stupid cold.

Because I so rarely get a cold (twice in 6 years), when I do, I don’t handle it so well. In the past, I’ve only got a cold due to stress – at school it was around exam time and later when training excessively. So I figure this is due to stress too. Not that my life is stressful in the slightest… but I think training hard each week, wanting to hit lofty weights in the gym, not allowing room for missing a session, and when giving up coffee, nothing to pep me up before a session… maybe it was a bit much.

I’ve suspected adrenal fatigue and low dopamine from excess coffee consumption, as I’ve lacked any sense of get-up-and-go for a while. Now I let my body relax without the stress of caffeine, and as this is my last heavy training week before 2 weeks of recovery, I guess it just had enough.

I have 2 recovery weeks coming up where I am still doing heavy bench days, but no heavy squat or deadlift. My back has been feeling 99.9% good so I’m confident I’m over my injury, but must not get complacent, and continue to warm up and stretch properly. I was hoping to get some running done and also get back into kettlebell training in this time – either building back up for Rank 3 Biathlon or scrapping that idea and mucking around with an eventual aim to do Rank 2 Long Cycle. But this stupid cold has put a stop to that.

I wanted to video my deadlifts this week to check my back position. It is ok for heavy stuff, although I do lose form a bit on the last set. I lock my knees out a bit early, but it was hot and the barbell was sticking to my thighs because I wasn’t wearing my special deadlift tights (everyone has special good-luck clothes for certain things, right?)

Leave a Reply

