Week ending Nov 11

Monday
  • Walk in the Dandenongs – 1 hr 30mins – not counted towards training total
Tuesday – Light bench + Heavy DL (+ Rehab)
  • 2 sets:
    • 5 Plank thoracic rotations
    • 3 Inchworm to spiderman with long stretch
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Narrow grip bench @ 40kg
    • 10 Single leg glute bridge @ 20kg
  • Deadlift: 3 x 6 @ 70kg
Wednesday – Light DL + Heavy squat
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Thoracic rotations
    • 6 Plank to push up
    • 20 Clam
  • Deadlift: 3 x 6 @ 45kg
  • Squat: 3 x 6 @ 55kg
Thursday – Light squat + Rehab
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Windmill
    • 12 Single leg hip thrust
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Squat @ 35kg
    • 6 Shoulder dislocations
    • 6 Shoulder round the worlds
  • 4 x 12 Single leg contralateral deadlift @ 19.5kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 8 GHR
    • 10 Plank to push up

Friday – Busy most of the day and exhausted myself

Saturday – Heavy Bench Day!
AM: 2hr 20min walk (not counted towards training total)
PM: Heavy Bench 🙂 🙂
  • Bench: 3 x 5 @ 55kg YEAH!!! Last 1RM in competition was 55kg!!
  • One arm DB Bench: 2 x 10 @ 15.5kg
  • 2 sets:
    • 10 DB Curl @ 9kg
    • 10 Lying tricep extensions @ 15.5kg
    • 10 Lateral raises @ 4kg

Sunday – Too hot to do what I had planned. No biggie. Rest, eat and get stronger 🙂 Perhaps go for a walk later to enjoy the sunshine.

Total training: 3 hours
Nutrition: The Definitive Diet with one treat snack

  1. I am MOST excited about SMASHING my bench 1RM from September! Not just SMASHING it, but doing 3 WHOLE SETS OF 5 at that weight!! And no, I did not even eat junk food to get it. BUT I have been eating a TONNE of food overall.

    I still have 2 more Heavy Bench Days until the comp. That means I will open with 60kg or 62.5kg on the day. If I can get to 65kg on the day then that will FINALLY be C grade in my weight class – I’m way at the low end of it, so that’s my excuse for it being harder. It’s also harder because the grading for bench only is way harder than for full comp since my Deadlifts and Squats are way better in comparison. At least they were. I’m pretty sure I haven’t lost strength since injury and it should be fairly easy to build back up again.

    After some quick calculations, if all goes well injury-wise, I should be able to get B grade for the February comp. And if (as I keep dreaming) I drop those elusive 2kg, that would be A grade in my preferred weight class.

  2. On either Friday or Sunday I had planned to attempt Rank 2 for Kettlebell Sport Biathlon. Unfortunately I was wiped out on Friday. And Sunday today it is quite hot. I am not one to make excuses due to the weather, but this is a rank attempt – pretty much my own competition. And in hot weather you sweat more. And when you sweat more, you are more likely to tear callouses. And I have no desire to attempt it, tear my hands up, and be unable to attempt it again for a week. So I will give it a go Monday morning when it’s a bit cooler.

  3. Diet-wise, I have lost all the extra kg from the tasty week last week. I am aiming to simplify things. It is quite obvious, now that I think about it, but I have come to the conclusion that my own diet I wrote works best. Guess that’s why I wrote it, huh 😉 I may attempt to manipulate things closer to competition to see if I can get to the next weight class, but I am not prepared to be hungry. I am the strongest I’ve ever been, and my nutrition fuels my training. It works well for that purpose, and any changes I make will not involve reducing food intake 😉

Bumped into this guy on Monday. And one of his friends on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

