Week ending Oct 21

Over the past couple of weeks I have been endeavouring to treat my body as an athlete should. I need to be more organised when my training sessions end up taking longer, but it’s so good to get in The Zone with an extended training session and to take time warming up and stretching.

Monday – Light Bench Day + Rehab
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 High windmill @ 16kg, 20kg, 20kg
    • 8 1.5 Single leg hip thrust
    • 8 Renegade row @ 35lb
  • Deadlift: 3 x 12 @ 55kg
  • Narrow Grip Bench: 3 x 8 @ 35kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 5 Bench to bench plank row @ 10lb
    • 10 Single leg deadlift @ 20kg
Tuesday – KB1
  • 2 sets:
    • 3 Inchworm to spiderman
    • 5 Side lunges
    • 5 Pike push ups, feet elevated
    • 5 Single leg straight leg lowers
    • 5 Straight leg lowers
  • KB Jerk: 7 mins @ 12kg, 14 RPM (problems locking out towards end)
  • KB Jerk: 4 mins @ 16kg, 12 RPM
Wednesday – KB2
  • 2 sets:
    • 3 Inchworms
    • 6 Side lunges
  • 2 sets:
    • 4 Plank thoracic rotations
    • 4 Lying T twists
    • 8 Plank to push up
    • 10 Ab wheel roll outs
  • KB Snatch: 7 mins @ 12kg, 14 RPM
  • KB Half snatch: 3 mins @ 16kg, 12 RPM, change hands every 30 sec (had to stop early due to torn blood blister. Should have been 4 mins, one hand change)
Thursday – Trash glutes, have a toughie since I’m too busy Friday to train
  • 2 sets:
    • 3 Inchworm to spider man
    • 10 Leg lowers
  • Sumo goblet squat: 10 @ bodyweight, 8 @ 25kg, 8 @ 30kg, 3 x 8 @ 35kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 8 Single leg deadlift @ 2 x 20kg KB
    • 8 Slowmo mountain climber
  • 3 sets:
    • 8 Single leg TRX squat
    • 10 TRX roll out
  • 3 sets:
    • 10 TRX Hamgstring curl
    • TRX mountain climber (10 slow, 20 fast, 20 slow)
  • 5 rounds:
    • 10 Burpees with push up
    • 10 Overhead KB swing @ 20kg

Friday – Busy all day, DOMS from yesterday

Saturday – Still DOMS. Exhausted from the week.

Sunday – Heavy bench day
  • 2 sets:
    • 8 Single leg hip thrust, feet elevated
    • 4 Stick ups
  • Bench: 8, 7, 7 @ 47.5kg
  • Forced reps bench: 3 x 3 @ 52.5kg (didn’t need assistance – too light)
  • DB Bench: 3 x 6 @ 19kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Lateral raises @ 7.5kg
    • 6 Lying tricep extension @ 21.5kg

Total training: 5+ hours
Nutrition: Break.

Renegade Diet produced some positive results if I stuck to it 100%. Any slight deviation and I was back where I started. It should be possible to eat one treat per week or in this case, break fast early one day per week. My hormone levels are “normal”, but I question “normal” because something is amiss. And this is not the only sign.

Decided to eat a like a normal person this week. Had things like a bagel for lunch, or toast for dinner (yeah, I’m lazy), the odd salad sandwich. Within two days I gained 2.5kg! I stayed the same for the rest of the week though. I have felt very bloated all week, and I think that’s just the refined carbs. It’s funny how these things affect you. It didn’t take long for me to start craving large serves of vegetables!

On another note, I have gotten myself addicted to caffeine again 😦 I do not feel awake, alive or normal without my morning coffee. But my morning coffee is usually a triple shot. And that’s kind of a bit much. And waking up with brain fog every day is not good. As of yesterday I started ordering a double shot instead 😦

Next weekend I am doing a 12 hour rogaine. I thought I would train for it, but that didn’t quite happen. I don’t think I will be with a competitive group anyway, so no biggie. So having said that, anyone want to train with me Friday arvo? I usually do my heavy bench session on the weekend, but I will have to move it to Friday and I need a spotter. Will be at the gym or my shed.

My next bench only comp is in 5 weeks. I’m feeling good about hitting another PB. Not good about the never ending quest to get down to the next weight class. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

