Week ending Oct 14

What a week! I’ve been insanely busy, have managed to fit in some big training sessions and so have also been insanely hungry 🙂

Monday – Deadlift Rehab + Light Bench Day + At the Gym so took advantage of the equipment
  • Deadlift: 5 @ 20kg, 3 x 12 @ 50kg
  • Bench: 3 x 8 @ 35kg
  • Lat pull down: 8 @ 20, 8 @ 60, 3 x 8 @ 80
  • Reverse hyper: 15, 2 x 15 @ 2.5kg

Tuesday – Exhausted + V Busy

Wednesday – KB1
  • Warm up. 3 rounds:
    • 6 Single leg lowers
    • 8 1.5 Single leg hip thrusts
    • 5 Bench to bench plank row @ 4kg
  • KB Jerk: 6 mins @ 12kg, 14 RPM (challenging towards end)
  • KB Jerk: 3 mins @ 16kg, 12 RPM
Thursday – Random conditioning + Attempt to kill glutes at gym
  • Warm up: Various animal crawls + lunges
  • 4 rounds of 30 sec on, 15 sec rest:
    • Dead ball slam @ 9kg
    • Deadball overhead carry @ 9kg
    • Battle ropes
    • X band lateral walks
  • Warm up #2 @ gym. 2 rounds:
    • 10 Dislocations
    • 10 Reverse then forward band walks
    • 10 Thoracic rotations
  • Barbell glute bridge: 10 @ 31kg, 10 @ 56kg, 3 x 10  @66kg
  • Sumo goblet squat: 10 @ bodyweight, 8 @ 25kg, 3 x 8 @ 30kg
  • Single leg box squat: 5 @ bodyweight, 3 x 5 @ 17.5kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 8 Single leg back extension
    • 10 TRX hamstring curls
  • Renegade row: 5, 6, 7 @ 15kg
  • Very very disappointed my glutes were not killing and I had no DOMS after this session.

Friday – Physically tired, mentally drained.

Saturday – Heavy Bench Day
  • Bench: 3 x 8 @ 44.5kg
  • Forced reps bench: 3 x 3 @ 52.5kg
  • DB Bench: 3 x 6 @ 18kg
  • 3 sets:
    • 6 Lateral raise @ 7.5kg
    • 6 Lying tricep extension @ 20.5kg
Sunday – KB2
  • Warm up. 2 sets:
    • 5 Thoracic rotations
    • 10 Ab wheel roll outs
    • 15 Clams
    • 5 Renegade rows @ 7.5kg
  • KB Snatch: 6 mins @ 12kg, 14 RPM
  • KB Half snatch: 3 mins @ 16kg, 12 RPM

Total training: 5 hours
Nutrition: Renegade diet with 1 treat night.

Thursday’s and Saturday’s training was 1.5 hours! These 2 mammoth sessions set me up for mammoth hunger and also mammoth fatigue. Now I have 2 free gym memberships, I’m hoping to get in 3 mammoth sessions a week. Although I love training at home (who doesn’t like training in ugg boots?), I tend to get lazy. My warm ups aren’t so great. And my lack of stretching is apparent. When I make the effort to travel somewhere to train, then my warm ups are usually good – I mean, I’ve just travelled somewhere to exercise so I may as well do a lot of it! And my cool downs/stretches are usually awesome – again, I’ve just travelled somewhere so I’m going to make the most of it.

One mammoth session is of course Heavy Bench Day. This can’t be done just anywhere, as I need a spotter on call. But the other mammoth session revolves around rehab, which is basically trashing the hell out of my glutes… and I should ad abs as well. So it can be quite easy for me to make one of the other KB sessions another mammoth session with some killer ab and glute stuff.

I really need to find more ways to trash my abs and glutes. Nothing gets them sore any more. Any ideas?

2 thoughts on “Week ending Oct 14

  1. Chocolate Chilli Mango®

    i have some! Hard for me to trash my abs so have a small arsenal of stuff. Sometimes it’s how you superset things and tweak to make them harder.

    have a few for glutes too….glutes is my thing as a goal for Xmas. Glutes of steel, samba toosh (lol), and amazing running prowess (ok that one is total BS but glutes that activate correctly would be fab).

    Reply
    1. Anna Post author

      Yep, supersetting stuff is key. Actually I have *mild* abs doms after yesterdays ab wheel roll outs, since I haven’t done them in a while. Heading off to Defo now… hoping the boss man is there so he can give me some more torture ideas 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

