Week ending Sep 9

I had a slightly manic weekend with a wedding and a full day (10 hours) of work, but still managed to get my heavy bench session in. It wasn’t great, but at least I could tick it off. The comp is next weekend.

Monday – Went to physio. He said I can deadlift again! Only with belt, and 4 x 15 starting at 30kg. So…
  • 2 sets:
    • 3 Square dances
    • 4 Plank thoracic rotations
  • Deadlift (with belt): 15 @ 20kg, 4 x 15 @ 30kg
  • Single leg squat: 2 x 5 @ 7.5kg
Tuesday – Light Bench Day
  • 2 sets:
    • 6 Single leg hip thrusts
    • 10 thoracic rotations
  • 2 sets:
    • Narrow grip bench: 3 x 5 @ 37.5kg
    • 8 Rear foot elevated single leg squat @ 15kg

Wednesday – OMG my glutes are so sore from 2 days of killer glute stuff.

Thursday – Fun Stuff
  • 3 sets:
    • 30 sec Plank to push up
    • 30 sec Lying T twist
  • 3 sets:
    • 3 Square dance
    • 5 Tuck jump
  • 4 sets of 30 sec on, 15 sec off:
    • Alternating one arm push up
    • Dead ball slam
    • Alternating step ups
    • Battle rops

Friday – Lazy

Saturday – Heavy Bench Day
  • 7am:
    • warm up
    • Attempt bench. Did 3 @ 51kg, 4 @ 50kg. Failed reps each time. Too early in the day to be lifting heavy stuff! So decided to attempt again later that night.
  • 7pm:
  • Bench: 3 @ 51kg (failed 4th rep again), 5 @ 49.5kg, 4 @ 49.5kg (failed 5th rep)
  • 2 sets:
    • 10 DB curl @ 7.5kg
    • 10 DB NG Bench @ 10kg
    • 10 Lying tricep ext @ 10kg

Sunday – Crazy Work Day

Total: 3 hours
Nutrition: Renegade diet, except Saturday, which was eat anything and everything day.

So that meant I had 1 more heavy bench day to do, which I got in today (Monday). I am very happy I have improved my bench, although not very much. I will definitely get a PB this weekend 🙂

In other news, I also got Rank 4 in biathlon in the kettlebell comp the other week. So that means all reps were legal, there was good fixation and technique was excellent. They did comment on my lack of flexibility (struggling with shoulder overhead) and also my good fixation. I am well aware of my terrible shoulder flexibility and also do make a conscious effort to fixate perfectly, as I do not like looking at bad reps, so glad they were all good in that respect 🙂 This means I can compete with a heavier bell. I think I’ll try to get Rank 3 before the next comp so I can aim for Rank 2 then.

2 thoughts on “Week ending Sep 9

  1. Viviane

    great week there, Anna.
    Bench sesh today went better than Saturday? Early morning is the pittsburg for lifting anything heavier than a toothbrush LOL
    Do you find bench is OK with your back? for powerlifting, you’re using your whole body in the lift, so wondered if it taxes your injury at all? probably not, given you’re still doing it. Just seems like it might.

    haha on the glute work *laughs hysterically* … i added some more in yesterday … ouch!

    Reply
    1. Anna Post author

      Today’s bench was slightly easier – 2 x 2 with a pause at the bottom. Back isn’t a fan of benching, but since I’m not benching that heavy in the scheme of things, and it’s all low reps, it’s all fine.

      It’s single leg squat day tomorrow… for both of us 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

