Week ending August 5

I decided to do something pretty drastic this week. On Tuesday I ran out of coffee and didn’t buy any more. I usually drink 4-6 cups per day. I am usually so tired from work and training, yet so wired from coffee, that tired yet wired had become the norm.

So from Wednesday I decided to do 7 days caffeine-free. I’m still sleeping A LOT but the headache has finally gone! This has thrown my training out a bit because I have pretty much felt like a zombie for the past few days.

Mon – Rehab
  • Turkish Get Up 10 each side @ 8kg
  • Glute isometric holds
  • 3 x 14 Single leg glute bridges superset with 3 x 10 thoracic rotations
Tues – Light Bench and KB 1
AM:
  • Lungey things and glute activation (rehab)
  • Narrow grip bench 3 x 8 @ 32.5kg superset with DB Renegade rows 3 x 8 @ 7.5kg
PM: Had an hour spare to have lunch, get the rest of my training done and have a shower. Had lunch, started to train KB jerks, had no energy, got a stitch 2 minutes in and wanted to die, so gave up.

Wed – Gave up coffee. Training time = curled up in a ball sleeping.

Thur – KB 2
  • AM: 40 mins various metabolic stuff not related to my training.
  • PM: Curled up in a ball trying to sleep off the caffeine withdrawal headache.

Fri – Walking around in a fog, trying to keep the headache at bay.

Sat – Heavy Bench Day
  • Bench: 5 @ 47.5kg, 4 @ 45kg, 7 @ 40kg
  • Forced reps bench: 3 x 3 @ 50kg
  • DB Bench: 3 x 8 @ 13.3kg
  • Lateral raise: 3 x 7 @ 7.5kg
  • Lying tricep ext: 3 x 8 @ 17.3kg
Sun – Usually a planned day off but felt better and wanted to do something, but not serious training.
  • Glute isometric holds superset with 8 Renegade rows @ 7.5kg
  • Front squat: 5 @ 20kg, 5 @ 30kg, 5 @ 40kg, 3 x 5 @ 50kg. Thought I was being smart doing front squats as the weight is limited and the anterior core works harder. Back wasn’t too happy with the load though 😦

Nutrition: Getting tired with lack lustre results so took 3 days planned break. I have another idea in the works but it is something I’m not used to and I have to plan some food ideas or I will get it wrong.

So it was kind of crap this week. I didn’t get any of my kettlebell training done and the comp is in a few weeks. This coming week is a disaster in terms of working lots but hopefully now I’ve got over the worst of the caffeine withdrawals I will be able to train.

I am finally starting to feel normal after 5 days without coffee. This is a big deal for me. I don’t like coffee. I love it. I love sampling single origin beans, and love tasting blends at cafes and guessing what’s in them. I’m not that geeky though – I can only guess the countries they’re from, not the individual types of beans 🙂

10 thoughts on “Week ending August 5

    1. Chocolate Chilli Mango®

      You always got back to the IF, hey?
      I’d love to do the IFing. Would be so much easier. But I can’t do anything properly unless I’m on my own.
      How have the goals changed given the injury? Has it bought you more time for the next comp you plan to head into?

      Reply
      1. Anna Post author

        IF just makes sense. The science is there. And it fits in really well with my life. But the leangains or ESE approaches don’t work for me. I’m doing Jason Ferruggia’s Renegade Diet, which is like a cross between LG and the Warrior (I think, haven’t read The Warrior yet)

      2. Anna Post author

        Forgot to say… Yes goals had to change. I’m doing the bench only section of the next PL comp. My bench really sucks so you’d think this would be a good opportunity to get better, but I seem to be staying the same 😦 although, lots of benching + jerks + snatches = huge triceps. So they’re probably fatigued. Also, more time + injury doesn’t equal better next time, because I will have to be very careful when I get back to deadlifting and squatting.

  1. Chocolate Chilli Mango®

    I haven’t read Jason’s book but follow him and his take on IFing is sensible. I’m not a fan of Martin the LG guy. He’s quite loopy although he does make some good points 😛
    I wonder why bench press is such a pain? I was able to lift 41kg for 15 reps and now 36kg seems like it weighs 100kg and I can’t lift it for more than 6-7.
    Maybe it’s much more susceptible to how you set up for it. Last few weeks, I have been distracted by a different trainer and chit chat and just want to drop the bar after rep 1 😦
    Are you going to UniMelb for training sessions? Maybe lay off some of the other stuff so your arms aren’t so trashed all the time too! LOL

    Reply
    1. Anna Post author

      I’d lay off the KB stuff if I didn’t have a comp in 3 weeks! After that I hope my bench will improve.

      Yes, you def need to be set up correctly. If you’re not right, it becomes purely pecs & tris, and it should be a full body exercise.

      Not at unimelb atm. My heavy day fits better on Saturdays and unimelb night is Mondays. Once the KB comp is done I’ll try to rock up there regularly.

      Reply
      1. Chocolate Chilli Mango®

        Ha, I wish I were good enough at something to compete. Might be a better way to set goals.
        This whole “I don’t wanna end up with a broken hip at 65” is kinda lame….

        Your problem is you are good at too many things! too many comps! :p

  2. Anna Post author

    I’m not good at anything – I’m average at everything! If you can do 41kg x 15 reps then you could easily do the bench only comp. I reckon you could also try a bikini or fitness model comp. btw entries close on Friday for the Ultra Spirit run @ the tan. You still up for it? I plan to enter today or tomorrow. If you do it, I’ll run with you.

    Reply
    1. Viviane

      ooh will discuss at KB tomorrow! should I do it? i’m so not running for ages….can I even run anymore????

      lol fitness/bikini comp…me…lol … ah so not me…. although in the geriatric class it might be fun and funny!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

