Week ending July 22

I’ve drawn up my training schedule until the next powerlifting comp (bench only). I will also do biathlon in a kettlebell comp in a few weeks. It’s kinda rigid at 6 days a week, and because I’ve taken on more clients + sold my soul to employment, training times are limited and inflexible. At some point I’ll have to move the heavy bench day to Monday so I can train with the club but this schedule suits me better.

Mon – Rehab

Tue – Light bench day + KB session 1
  • Bench 3 x 8 @ 30kg
  • 5 mins Jerks @ 12kg, 10 RPM, one hand change. Easy 🙂
  • 5 mins Jerks @ 8kg, 10 RPM, one hand change. Easy.

Wed – Rehab (getting boring now)

Thu – KB session 2
  • 5 mins Snatches @ 12kg, 10 RPM, one hand change. So easy 🙂
  • 5 mins Snatches @ 8kg, 10 RPM, one hand change. So easy.

Fri – Rehab – added in some variations so I didn’t die of boredom.

Sat – Heavy bench day
  • Incline bench 3 x 8 @ 37.5kg
  • KB bench 9, 10, 10 @ 12kg
  • Decline bench 7 @ 35kg; 8, 6 @ 33.5kg
  • DB lateral raise 12 @ 4kg, 2 x 8 @ 7.5kg
  • Lying tricep ext 3 x 10 @ 10kg

Sun – Sloth day

Total training: 5 hours.

Doing the rehab 3 times a week is starting to annoy me. I am the worst person to train ever. The rehab prescribed by the physio is about 50-60 mins of what I consider to be warm up/core/glute activation exercises. It’s so boring because it’s like warming up and not actually doing anything – like I’m warming up for nothing. At the same time, it’s quite intense because there are lots of TGUs and some lunge-y things that get the heart rate up a bit. I sometimes substitute some exercises, do a different set/rep scheme or add in other things. I always add extra mobility work. Whenever I do this session, my back always feels great. Actually, whenever I move my back feels better.

Other injuries: Left knee is occasionally stupid. I think I forget to walk properly. Right ankle/tarsal tunnel syndrome/FHL issue is reappearing as I do the occasional bodyweight squat in flat shoes. Last time I demo a squat to an employer.

Nutrition: Still carb cycling. Was going to stop this as of this week but we decided to check out a gumbo food van on Saturday, which would have also coincided with a carb day, so I decided to continue a little longer. It’s been great gradually making my way through the treats from Gusto bakery in Fairfield and Miss Marie Cafe in Rosanna, but the time has come to limit these amazing taste sensations 😦 While body size is shrinking, scale weight is staying the same. This would usually be a good thing, but if you want to be in a certain weight class then it doesn’t matter what size you are, only the scale counts.

5 weeks til the KB comp. 8 weeks til the bench comp.

Leave a Reply

