Sri Chinmoy half marathon

Yesterday was the SC half at Como Landing, South Yarra. I surprised myself by thinking I got there in plenty of time. Well, maybe if there was a park right at the start but there wasn’t. So as is often the case for me, by the time I parked the car I had just enough time to run to the start, sign in while they were calling the half marathoners to get to the start line, dump my bag and make my way to my place near the back of the starting line.

After 27km of intense hills the previous day, my quads were not going to cooperate. They weren’t sore, they just didn’t want to move. At the 5km mark I was ready to call it a day, at 7ks (this race was 3 laps of 7km) I couldn’t believe I had to do it again. And again. By 10km my legs had lost any sense of what running is supposed to be and I started crawling. At 14km I wished I’d just entered the 14km option. At 16km my calves became very tense, almost cramping, and I hobbled home in around 2:16. That’s my 2nd longest half ever! It was funny looking at my splits afterwards. The first km was in 5:16, a reasonable pace I should be able to hold. It got slower and slower til my last km was at 7:07 pace!

This is the first time I’ve done the SC Como Landing course and to be honest I didn’t really like it. Too much going up bridges and down tunnels for my liking. I think I only like their Princes Park and Yarra Boulevard courses.

I wore my Five Fingers, and as usual they led to interesting conversations during the race. I spoke to some people while in the line to drop off my bag and at least 3 people during the course. Always happy to spread the minimalist word! It was good to wear them and run with better form, but 2 days of 20+km runs in a row in flats/FFs just about killed both my achilles tendons. I’m really not sure what to do about them. Maybe next year I will have to start running again from scratch. Or take up something low impact like Girevoy Sport.

Leave a Reply

