With the demise of my Frees, my last lightweight trainers, I’m deciding what to do next with my choice of footwear. I saw the new Nike Free Hyper TR online, but it’s too new for it to be in the factory outlet and I don’t want to pay full price in the store.

I’ve been reading some more blogs this week and I am really out of touch with what is going in the international world of barefoot and Five Fingers runners! This trend is growing much faster than I realised! Not only is there a Barefoot Running University and Barefoot Runners Society, but it seems thousands of people are getting into it in the states and it no longer seems to be considered abnormal! It’s been great seeing what these people are up to so I’ve updated my blog roll on the right for you to check out some more runners.

So this has all got me thinking. Currently I have 2 pairs of Adidas flats and 2 pairs of Five Fingers, which are also beginning to fall apart after a few years. The soles of my feet do tend to tire while wearing flats for long runs, but I have done an ultra in the FFs before, so maybe I should just toughen up again and do my long runs in the flats and short runs in the FFs. I’m really not bothered to toughen up enough to run trails in the FFs, especially since mine are the Sprints with poor grip. So it will be flats for the trails and FFs for the roads. My right achilles will hate it, but I’m running less than ever this year, relying on leg strength from weight lifting to get me through long distances. So just maybe I can do this.

I’ve got 2 trail ultras and 2 road ultras planned for this year. The road ultras will be tough in flats, but the trails should be fine. Next one is the You Yangs 50km on July 25.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

