How to prepare for a rogaine?

On Saturday I got my VHBOS run in (Volcanic Hills Balls of Steel), which was around 25km including Reynolds and Allendale Rds from the Wattle Glen end. It was much easier starting at this end. I plan to take in part of the VHBOS every weekend possible to get as much leg strength and mental strength from the hills as I can. My hamstrings were still pretty sore from stupidly doing RDLs on Thursday (way too late in the week for hamstring work with a long run on Saturday). I wore my Adizero PRs to see how my feet would hold up in flats over that distance. I love those shoes so much but the soles of my feet were pretty fatigued so unfortunately that means I will have to wear the Nike Frees next weekend for a rogaine.

So… this coming Saturday I will be doing a 6 hr rogaine! The course will be 60% state forest, 30% historical diggings and 10% private land. I’ve been orienteering once about 15 years ago but that was very quick and easy. I’ll be in a team of 3 and one of the girls has done a lot of this stuff so I will be in good hands.

I have been told to wear long pants and gaiters because the scrub can scratch up your legs. Well I don’t have any long pants, because who runs in long pants? I have small roc bloc gaiters for running and I have big bushwalking gaitors, but I have been told there are special orienteering ones too! The little gaiters aren’t suitable but I don’t know how uncomfortable it will be running in big bushwalking gaiters! But then, I’ve also been told it will be quite easy going walking and jogging, because obviously you can’t go at proper running speed while bush bashing. I have all the other gear – waterproof jacket, first aid kit, compass etc.

This will be my first long distance event of the year, although at an easy pace. So I’m not sure if I should be tapering or not. In any case, I am not going to risk the event with DOMS from weight lifting or any fatigue from running too much so my week will look like this:

Monday – Kettlebells
Tuesday – Gym (squats, rows, push ups, most likely followed by intervals on the C2 rower)
Wednesday – Hill sprints
Thursday – Something easy to recover from, probably kettlebells
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 6 hr rogaine
Sunday – Rest!

So… anyone reading this done any long distance orienteering or rogaining? Should I do more of a taper or not worry? Do I need to buy long pants? Or will 3/4 tights and bushwalking gaiters do? Any tips?

2 thoughts on “How to prepare for a rogaine?

  1. Louise

    Hiya. I'll be doing it on the Sunday. :-)I wouldn't worry about tapering – but perhaps leave the weights alone for the last few days. You will need your quads.Your bushwalking gaiters will be fine; Fryerstown is pretty open, so you won't get particularly scratched up. A lot of people wear long gaiters and shorts. (The orienteering gaiters are much softer, but not a lot of people use them on a rogaine – they get too beaten up).Ping me if you need any more info offline.Enjoy.

    Reply
  2. anna

    Thanks Louise! I'm glad it will be open out that way and the bushwalking gaitors are ok. At least now I know I wont come home a bleeding mess 🙂 Hope the weather is good this weekend and you have a good day Sunday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

